“I Believe I Am”

Who is the Best in Women’s Tennis at this Moment?

The answer my friend is blowing in the wind – 28th seed Ms. Serena Williams
breezes into the quarter-finals of the US Open with a comfortable straight-sets
win! Serena remains on course for her fourth US Open with a powerful 6-3, 6-4
defeat of the former world No1. Serbia’s Ana Ivanovic.

I BELIEVE I AM!


REASONS WHY I BELIEVE I AM?

SERVE
Williams’ serve is generally regarded as the most effective in women’s. “I
just have confidence in it. It’s a weapon,” said Williams, whose pal,
filmmaker Spike Lee, sat in her guest box. “I’m just like, ‘OK, I’m going
to hit an ace here.’ I hit an ace.”

INTIMIDATION
Asked whether she tries to be intimidating on court, 13-time Grand Slam
champion Williams replied: “No, I don’t try. I just am.”

CONFIDENCE
In post-match interviews Serena generally nitpicks her performance although
without getting into what specifically disappointed her. What there’s not a
thing wrong with, she makes clear, is her confidence.

RESTORATIVE
Serena’s 16-0 record on hard courts this summer is a run that is restoring order to the
women’s tennis hierarchy.

THE BEST
Reporters asked Serena “Are you the best female tennis player in the world at the moment —
regardless of what the rankings say? Her answer was “I don’t know!” Then upon reflection she added “I believe I am.”

Just wondering…
WHERE IS THE LOVE?
Commentators and pundits were all over themselves today uttering
“Oh My, how Ivanovic is putting up a brave fight against Serena; and, she
is continuing to play well”.
  Few if any admit that today Serena
stayed at her best in spite of having to compete with two opponents on the
other side of the net – The Wind & Ivanovic. Where, I ask the American
television commentators, are praiseful antidotes like “Isn’t it terrific
to see Serena once again playing this way?” Instead we get day after day
words lamenting, well there is just no one left in the field that can beat her.

IT’S NOT HER GAME ITS HER FEAR FACTOR
Sadly one writer found a subtle but clear way of saying Serena is winning only
because she succeeds at creating a Fear Factor presence on the court. In
attempting to prove her point, the woman writer quotes commentator John
McEnroe’s utterance of “I’m scared” – after Serena winning a point at
net, stands there and roars “C’mon!” Being accustomed to JMac’s
unique and colorful commentary and knowing what a badass he was himself on
court – I DO NOT believe for a minute that he was about to dash out of the commentator’s booth
and run from the tournament grounds out of FEAR of Serena.

NO REAL LOVE FROM THE USTA
In a better world the USTA perhaps there would exist a better USTA. The
Association is promoting American talent unmercifully at this year’s US Open,
going as far as airing in nightly prime time matches nameless low-ranked
American players. The USTA still refuses to acknowledge that without the
Williams Sisters the United States would not have had a face in the women’s
tennis game worldwide. Instead the USTA and their mouthpieces on ESPN talk
begrudgingly about the dominance of the Sisters, instead of the inspiration
they surely have been on young American girls!

We welcome your comments!

