Check out SERENA on the COVER of MONARCH MAGAZINE from 2008

Check out SERENA on the  COVER of  MONARCH MAGAZINE from 2008

SERENA COVERS MONARCH MAGAZINE

Sure its old news but Serena is truly rocking this cover.  If she had a hand in choosing the male models then I say that was a Winning-Shot! 🙂   The piece also includes a couple of looks from Serena’s clothing line.  Looking good like a 13 Title Holder should!

EXCERPT FROM Monarch Magazine

Today you are one of tennis’s great players. What do you attribute this to?
Well, I would have to say that my parents have all the credit. They really made it work even though they had to sacrifice to do it every day. If it wasn’t for them I wouldn’t be here.

Being an African American in this sport, how do you think your success has changed the view of life for young African Americans who follow your career? It’s been great. When I was growing up, there weren’t many African American tennis players that I could look up to out there, except for Zena Garrison. She had such an impact on my life. I hope that I might have that same impact on others some day. Then I would know that everything I’ve done would have been worthwhile.
Out of all the success you have had at this game, what has it taught you personally? I think it’s just to always be true to who I am, and humble at the same time. That is my life lesson. In this business one day you’re in and one day you could be out. I just want to enjoy success while I can.

How long do you think you can keep playing this game professionally? Well, I’m enjoying it so much. The energy and excitement are always there. I can do it for another eight years.

Away from tennis you have a real knack for business. How did this come about? My father is a real entrepreneur. I think I just got it from him, and my mom too. Being in such an environment, I don’t think you can help but to grow up with that mentality.

How did you come up with the Aneres clothing line?
Well, when I was younger I used to sew and make clothes, and I loved doing it. Later I went to the Art Institute in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. They have one of the best curriculums around.

In what venues can we find your clothing? We’re not in stores yet, but soon. In fact I have a couple of meetings coming up next week. Finally I can answer more questions people have about the line.

Who wears Aneres? Every woman wears Aneres. My motto is if you look good you feel good.

Can we expect to see another television show from you and your sister in the future? (Giggle), I don’t know, maybe. I loved doing it, but we were doing so much work during that time. We had a hectic schedule.

After tennis have you ever thought about acting full time? Yes, even now I have a lot of gigs offered, but because of the writers strike they have been postponed for a while.

In your HP commercial you say that you love animation and have some ideas. Can you tell me one?
I have this super hero that I created, probably because I love writing as much as animation. Not too long ago I did a voice-over for one of my favorite cartoons called the “Avatar”. I loved every minute of it.

Do you know what the school your financing in Senegal will be called? I have no idea at this point. Maybe they will name it after me.

How do you deal with pressure of playing tennis?
My father told me, the pressure you have is the pressure you put on yourself.

2 thoughts on “Check out SERENA on the COVER of MONARCH MAGAZINE from 2008

    • wmssisrock September 30, 2011 / 4:35 am

      Thanks for leaving a comment. Visited your blog too – COOL STUFF – it too Rocks! 🙂

      Like

We welcome your comments!

