Venus Changes Diet to Battle Disease

 

Williams’ last grand slam singles triumph was her 2008 Wimbledon crown. 

Venus  announces that she has changed her diet following the diagnosis of the autoimmune disease that resulted in her withdrawal from her second-round match at the U.S. Open this year’s. Williams told America’s ABC television that after her warm-up on the day of the match she was struggling to lift her arms over her head, although she had been well enough to win her first-round match in straight sets.

“I changed my diet completely, so lots of vegetables,” Venus said. “I (altered) my mind frame completely because I was the person who always ate their steak first and their salad second.”

The lifestyle change follows the revelation that the American has Sjogren’s Syndrome, a chronic disease where white blood
cells attack moisture-producing glands and can cause dysfunction of organs and body systems.

And Venus is hoping the new approach will propel her back to the top of the women’s tennis rankings. She has fallen to No. 103 in the rankings

“My goal next year is to play a full schedule. It will take some work to get there, but I’m no stranger to hard work,” she said. “I love the game. The racket feels right in my hand and I’m planning on going right back to where I was at the top of the rankings in the singles and doubles sometime within the next 12 months.”

 

We welcome your comments!

