Venus Williams Makes Comeback to Tennis

Hip, Hip, Hooray!  Venus will be making her comeback in an exhibition match against her sister Serena in Colombia next Wednesday.  Remember it was two months ago when she was forced to pull out of the US Open because of an immune system disease.  Serena hasn’t played since the finals match of the US Open.

The Williams sisters will play the Italian pair Francesca Schiavone and Flavia Pennetta in another exhibition match in Milan on 3 December.

If its a healthy Venus making this comeback look to she her ranking rise like the sun each morning.  Because of injuries during 2011, Venus’ ranking has fallen to No. 103.  

“Within the next 12 months, I’m expecting to get back to the top of the rankings in singles and doubles. I want to play all year-long. I’ve still got a lot of work to do but it doesn’t scare me — I’m used to it.”

She is planning to return to the WTA Tour in January at the ASB Classic in Auckland, New Zealand.

The best of news is that Venus, in spite of the auto-immune disorder, has been able to keep up her fitness and training routine.  Venus told the Gazzetta dello Sport, which is sponsoring the Milan match, that she has continued tennis practice and trains in the gym.  As reported in an earlier BlogPage, Venus has changed her diet to fill it with vegetables after being diagnosed with Sjogren’s syndrome, which can cause fatigue and joint pain.

“I did a lot of medical therapy and a serious evaluation of my diet to understand which foods help control the symptoms better,” Venus Williams told the Gazzetta, which is sponsoring the Milan exhibition.

“And that’s why I’ve completely changed my diet and filled it with a lot of vegetables,” she said. “In the meantime, I’ve continued to keep myself fit with tennis and in the gym. I’m very confident in my progress.”

Can’t wait to see Venus back in the tennis stride again!

“The London Olympics are a big goal,” the five-time Wimbledon champion said. “I would like to continue playing at my best level. I love tennis and the racket seems like it was made explicitly for my hand.

One thought on “Venus Williams Makes Comeback to Tennis

We welcome your comments!

