Serena Williams Comments on Loss at Aussie Open

http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/hub.1326407570.html

 

After her loss in the 4th round of the Australian Open Serena began her news conference by saying…

“[Makapova] played really well.”: “I honestly think it was on my racket. I hit a lot of errors. She hit some great shots down the line. But I mean, every ball that came, I just hit it as far out as I could.”

“I served like a . . . I guess that’s not appropriate,” she said, pulling back from what she really thought about her serve. “I can’t even describe how I served, to be honest. It wasn’t good enough. My lefty serve is actually better than that. Maybe I should have started serving lefty.”

 “I never blame any injury that I have because she played really well and deserved to win today.

“I look forward to our next match. I feel I can definitely play so much better. And that’s good. Like if I felt I couldn’t play better, that would be a problem.”

How does a 13-time Grand Slam champion lose to a 56th ranked player…the stats tell the story:

  1. Serena committed 37 unforced errors compared to 24 winners.
  2. Williams served at a poor 52 percent.
  3. Serena’s return game was off – opponent with weak second serve won 70 percent of those points.

http://cache-02.cleanprint.net/media/swf/flashcomm.swfWhat does the rest of the 2012 WTA tour hold for Serena being in the winner circle? Rest assured that like the infamous line in that film so says Serena –  “I’ll be back!”

2 thoughts on “Serena Williams Comments on Loss at Aussie Open

  1. tennis fan April 20, 2013 / 5:30 pm

    You’ve recently been scare in the online world. Miss your commentary and hope your life is going great.

    Like

    • williamssistahs November 13, 2014 / 6:22 pm

      Heyyyy TennisFan, slowly but surely, putting life in order. LOL Amazing year for the Williams Sistahs…nothing short of inspiring!

      Like

We welcome your comments!

