The Elusive SERENA WILLIAMS …Not Your Average World Number One

SERENA ELUSIVEThis Tuesday morning finds me a bit mystified by headlines in the media and twittertalk about the World#1 Women’s Tennis Player – Serena Williams! The chatter would have me believing that Williams’ number one status and, even her ‘greatness’, is in question. Why? (Warning this is where it gets comical and I may get cynical being a Serena Williams Fan.)SERENA I WILL STAY ON TOP OF MY GAME

Tennis Sports Writers, those who tweet and even some fans are aghast that Serena lost matches in ‘exhibition’ play: two of three singles matches at the Hopman Cup.  I admonish all to keep in mind…Serena Williams has maintained her status as World#1 for 100 weeks and counting; and more importantly, since her debut as a teenager, has never been – and never will be – your average tennis player!

Featured on Adrian Garcia, CargoCollective.com: Dwyane Wade & Serena Williams in Sobefit Magazine.
Featured on Adrian Garcia, CargoCollective.com: Dwyane Wade & Serena Williams in
Sobefit Magazine.

And the beat goes on…for example Serena being the player who dances to the beat of her own drum, took a coffee break during the Hopman Cup match with Pennatta.  What else could a jet-setter who just flew halfway round the world – with no time for breakfast – have but a bagel and expresso? 😉

Serena Williams decided a coffee might  help her overcome travel jetlag  after losing the first set 6-0 at Hopman Cup 2015.
Serena Williams decided a coffee might help her overcome travel jetlag after losing the first set 6-0 at Hopman Cup 2015.
Serena Williams smashed her racket and argued with several people in the deciding doubles match of the Hopman Cup, which she and partner John Isner lost to Poland.  Will Russell/Getty Images
Serena Williams smashed her racket and argued with several people in the deciding doubles match of the Hopman Cup, which she and partner John Isner lost to Poland. Will Russell/Getty Images

I can only shake my head in confusion and dismay – at the non-controversy ESPN Tennis wrote of as Serena losing her temper during Hopman Cup play while partnering with Josh Ishner. With the U.S. 2-1 down in the second set, a point had to be replayed after Janowicz prematurely celebrated after he thought Isner and Williams both struck the ball.  A five-minute argument involving ‘all four players’, the chair umpire, and a tournament referee ensued.
BUT…
the ESPN Tennis headline read “Serena irked in Hopman defeat” and ran this photo(with caption).

What did Serena say about this year?

serena interview with chris evertSerena Williams in an interview with fellow 18-time Grand Slam winner Chris Evert shared her plans for 2015, which include ramping-up her serve:

 “I want to move a lot faster on the court,” she said. “I want to be more dynamic and just completely awesome out there. And I need to bring my serve back. My serve in 2014 was a little disappointing for me. I want my 2013 serve back, but a better version of that for 2015. I had so many double faults this year: I was hitting, like, seven in a match, and it was driving me insane.”

And when asked how much further she felt she could go by Evert, Williams replied:

SERENA OVERPOWER OVERTAKE OVERCOME“Well, it’s no secret. I’m going for the gusto. I’m going to try to catch up with Steffi. But right now I’m really focused on 19, which will begin in Australia. Whether I get there or not, I don’t know. But I know if I get to 19, the second it happens I will be thinking of 20.”

Read More About Interview at: http://www.tennisnow.com/Blogs/NET-POSTS/December-2014/Serena-Williams-Wants-to-Catch-Steffi-Graf%E2%80%99s-22-Gr.aspx#sthash.jEnLMh4g.dpuf

About the early losses in 2015 “Exhibition Play”:TROLL TENNIS puts it in proper perspective:

TROLL

@TrollTennis: Serena Williams be like.SERENACALMDOWN

In closing: nonsense talk, doubting Serena, is well underway and to those doubters I say hold those thoughts

‘-)

and let the damn

‘GRAND SLAM’ play begin…K!

humbly submitted by guestBlogger and diehard WilliamsSisters Fan @BlackPearlMoi!

2 thoughts on “The Elusive SERENA WILLIAMS …Not Your Average World Number One

  1. Sherri January 13, 2015 / 5:41 pm

    Thank you for this Blog! I promise Gab you are on point with my thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Williams Sistahs January 18, 2015 / 10:23 pm

      Gracias for checking in and being so kind, leaving a comment. Australian Open here we come…#GoWILLIAMSISTERS

      Like

We welcome your comments!

